Travel Tips & Reviews

Whether it is saving money on flights, finding a great way to connect with the locals or that amazing new app which will change the way we travel. We all want to find it right?

Here are some of my favourite tips and hacks to travel better as well as reviews from places around the world.

Safe travels,
Dan

Reviews & Tips…

Ultimate Bali Guide + Where to stay in Bali 2019 / 2020

Bali, the Island of the Gods divides us into love or hate camps. But really, I think it is as simple as picking the right area to stay in to really enjoy your trip. So, where should you stay when you're in Bali?
4th February 2019/by Daniel James (Dan Flying Solo)

The 29 Best Travel Apps in 2019 for iPhone and Android

From pollen counts to star gazing, our phones can pretty much do anything these days. Here's what I have on my handset for the year to come...
1st February 2019/by Daniel James (Dan Flying Solo)

How to find cheap flights from the USA and UK straight to your inbox

Cheap flights and return fare tickets can be snapped up at a steal thanks to a few hard working guys who bring you flight deals to your inbox
16th December 2018/by Daniel James (Dan Flying Solo)

Know your EU261 flight rights: Making claims for delayed or cancelled flights

Having suffered a few 24 hours plus flight delays now, I've got used to the time-consuming process of making claims. Here is the lowdown on how to do it.
10th December 2018/by Daniel James (Dan Flying Solo)

20 Photos that prove Edinburgh is the worlds Festival City!

Billing yourself as 'The Worlds Festival City' might be a big claim to live up to, but with only the Olympics and World Cup selling more tickets than Edinburgh Festivals they do just that. A quick guide to the August festivals in the Scottish capital.
1st August 2018/by Daniel James (Dan Flying Solo)

Why learning to Scuba Dive will change your life

My first venture into scuba diving took place in the tropical waters of Thailand. My friend, a qualified PADI instructor, had dragged me to sign up for a discovery dive while we were staying near Koh Phi Phi.
18th July 2018/by Daniel James (Dan Flying Solo)

Beijing to Hong Kong with G Adventures: Should you take a tour in China?

Travelling mainly by train, I explored Beijing to Hong Kong with G Adventures, one of their many China tours. This is my review of travelling China with G Adventures.
13th July 2018/by Daniel James (Dan Flying Solo)

Cruising Scandinavia, St Petersburg and the Baltic Sea with Princess Cruises

What was cruising going to be like? Would I love it or hate it? Was it going to feel like a vacation or an adventure? Here is how my 11 day Scandinavia, St Petersburg and Baltic Sea cruise went down...
2nd July 2018/by Daniel James (Dan Flying Solo)

Connections, culture and cruising: Tips to make your voyage more intrepid

When it comes to cruising there are plenty of beliefs about being shuttled around by busses and not experiencing any of the local cultures but if you keep a travellers mindset you'll find cruising can be far more intrepid than you would believe.
21st June 2018/by Daniel James (Dan Flying Solo)

12 Random things you should pack for long term travel

When it comes to backpacking around the world, travelling light is always the end goal. These might not be the most obvious things to pack, but they are always with me on any trip.
2nd June 2018/by Daniel James (Dan Flying Solo)

Vineyards, Relaxation and Star Gazing: A weekend in Alentejo, Portugal

Heres' where sip the good stuff under a star-lit sky after feasting on Michelin star food, before venturing off to explore the region's towns and cities.
17th May 2018/by Daniel James (Dan Flying Solo)

Best Picks and Gifts for Eco Travellers

It's the time of year when you get bombed with gift guides. This year I'm scrapping the affiliate links and focusing on products supporting good in this world...
5th April 2018/by Daniel James (Dan Flying Solo)
Load more

Beyond The Guidebook

Hey! I’m Dan and I am a little bit obsessed with exploring the world, meeting people on the road and can usually be found lost and attached to a camera. I’ve been lucky enough to visit 50+ countries and aim to share the best travel tips, stories and guides here on the blog. If you want to be kept up to date every month + get access to the latest deals and competitions sign up on the form just down there or feel free to stalk me a bit more if you need help planning a trip, click here to get in touch!

Safe Travels, Dan

Subscribe for Updates:

[convertkit form=4928638]